It’s Been Awhile

It has been a crazy spring. Five weeks of some sort of flu, two weeks in Florida, a 15km race, a 30km race, training for my very first marathon which takes place in just three weeks, two injuries, AND my very first art show!!!!

That’s right, I have been juried into the Red Trillium Studio Tour, which takes place on Mother’s Day weekend here in the Ottawa region. I had applied at the end of January, hoping I might have a chance to display some photos in the fall show, but I was accepted for the spring as well. This was both good and bad. The good – Approximately 50 various artisans set up in home studios for the weekend. I am in a studio with six artisans – a potter, a jeweller, two painters, a doll maker and myself. The public tours from house to house. The bad – I only had photos on my computer. Nothing tangible to show and sell and I was crunched for time. In addition, I was expecting to research and to spread the expenses out over several months.

I laboriously poured over hundreds, maybe thousands of photos, and narrowed it down to 50 that would be suitable for limited edition prints. Not knowing the clientele I chose a wide variety. I  met with a couple of other photographers who regularly show and sell their work, who kindly steered me in the right direction. I rented grid walls, purchased lights, purchased a fine art printer and boxes of expensive specialty paper to ensure that I had direct control of the printing, found a packaging supplier, made foam sleeves to protect the frames, bought receipt books. (I will be so excited if I get to write a few of these.) Facebook led me to an old friend from high school who owns a framing store and art gallery in Kingston. All the pieces were framed for an exceptional price. I was given private lesson on framing and reconnected with a friend from the past. I re-processed photos for several sizes and papers, web, and cards. Then the printing started….and more printing….and more printing….and more printing. At times it seemed that there was no light at the end of the tunnel. Three and half months of none stop preparation.  25 framed 18×24 prints, 35 matted 18×24 prints, 300 cards, 150 magnets later.

Here are just a couple of the photos that will be up for sale – a little fine art – a little intentional camera movement – a little crystal ball photography. After the show is over, I will update my site with all the limited edition prints and cards that can be purchased online.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Been Awhile

  1. K says:

    Hello! We met at the studio tour. I really enjoyed seeing your photography and sharing my experiences with you. As well, thank you for sharing your thoughts with my daughter. The visit was a positive experience for her and she came home with a new found inspiration for her art. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

    I’m going to bookmark your website/blog and have a look around. I really enjoy your orb photographs. I’d love it if you stopped by my website/blog some day too.

    Blog: http://kiyaspiritoffire.wordpress.com
    Business: http://kristyloucreative.ca
    Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/spiritoffire/show/

    Kris

    • gfobert says:

      Hi Kristy. Thank you so much for your kind comments and for dropping by the tour. Your daughter is amazing for her age, and so much fun to talk to. She’s quite talented. I took a quick peek at your site just now and will revisit it later today. LOVE the photos in the mud. So colourful and fun! Take care and hope to see you at another tour. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

